Teriyaki Bacon Wrapped Chicken Skewers

Friday I had a burst of energy. As soon as I was able, I made the Teriyaki Sauce and began cutting the chicken. I had soaked the skewers overnight in water so that they wouldn’t just go up in flames on the grill.

After cubing 1 large boneless, skinless chicken breast, I wrapped the bacon around a cube and cut with kitchen shears to size. The original post mentions something about not using thick cut bacon as it won’t work for this recipe, and they are right, but I picked up the only uncured Applewood smoked bacon I could find and it was thick cut. As I wrapped the chicken in the bacon, I stretched the bacon as thin as possible. Then alternate chicken/ bacon with Pineapple. I was able to get 3 bits of each on each skewer and the recipe yielded 6 skewers. All of this before the little one woke from his nap. YAY!

After letting the skewers marinate in the teriyaki sauce all day, I let my husband grill. Because the bacon was so thick, we had to broil after grilling and still a lot of the fat was not as crisp as I would have liked.

I served the skewers with brown rice. Nothing too fancy this time. I still am recovering from my hospital stay after all 😉 My husband LOVED them! I liked them a lot.

The teriyaki was a pleasant note as opposed to being overpowering. I love grilled pineapple and it added a nice sweetness. All in all, a really well balanced flavorful meal.

This has only made my husband more excited about the whole experiment.

This week, two recipes: Stuffed Bell Peppers with brown rice and Lemon Blackberry Pie

See you soon!ImageImage

Leave a Reply

