Lemon Blackberry Cheesecake

As I promised, I did make the Lemon Blackberry Cheesecake (<—–recipe link) two weeks ago. We went on a family vacation to Solvang, California with my husband’s family. It just so happened that the second night we were there was my mother-in-law’s birthday, (to avoid any ill feelings, I will keep my M-I-L’s age a secret.  She doesn’t look her age anyway. She looks years younger!) But she, and especially our niece and nephew, LOVE cheesecake. I thought it was the perfect time to try the recipe out on the family.

Making the cake was fairly easy, though I always find making cheesecakes a bit labor intensive. That may be because of my tiny kitchen.  Also, I find that you need to have all the right kitchen gear or it will take an age to get the ingredients ready to combine, much less figure out which pan you’re going to use.  Proper gear is key! You’ll need a 4″ deep springform pan and zester for this one.

When buying the ingredients, you find out why cheesecakes go for upwards of $45 (or $8 a slice!). If you buy high quality ingredients, and who wouldn’t for a birthday cake, plan on spending around $65. While we’re on the topic of ingredients, I substituted the cream cheese with a lower fat European style cream cheese called Neufchatel.  It worked really well in the recipe.  Also, as promised, I used gluten free graham cracker crumbs, by Kinnikinnick.

The recipe at one point tells you to “take half of the batter and add lemon juice, lemon zest and blackberries.” A process which was difficult because I had to eyeball what a half of the batter was. I think I added the fruity ingredients to slightly more than half of the batter. I was a bit nervous how it would turn out but the end result proved that I need not have worried.

I served up the cheesecake and well, it must have been good because the room fell silent for a while. You know it’s good when a 5 year old and an 8 year old are quiet because they are stuffing their faces! 🙂 There was so much that there were enough for seconds the next night!

While I really liked the cheesecake, it was a bit rich. (My mother-in-law suspected that the richness caused her to become ill later that night 😦  Not a happy birthday for her! ) I quite liked the blackberry and lemon layer of the cheesecake, but found that the plain layer lacked flavor. But on the whole a great recipe!

Next up, Salty Bourbon Squares to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary! Until then, please enjoy the pictures of my first fault-line free cheesecake 🙂

See you soon!

Right before digging in:

Image

Right after digging in:

Image

Fresh out of the oven:

Image

Leave a Reply

