Walnut Jam Scones

Life has once again gotten in the way of writing… though nothing as dramatic as being hospitalized. I have missed two weeks of blogging and cooking/baking. I will just have to make up for it by doing 4 recipes in the next week!

It’s not that I haven’t been cooking and baking this whole time. I have! Some new recipes and some of my classics. I even dabbled with a BabyCakes NYC recipe for my son’s 1st birthday: gluten-Free and sugar-free carrot cupcakes. I know what you’re thinking. It does sound awful! But my husband and son both enjoyed them. Cake Smash pictures are soon to be scheduled.

On to the topic of the Walnut Jam Scones from Huckleberry in Santa Monica, Ca. My best friend is a fan so I thought that these would be perfect to make for her birthday. Her husband threw her a surprise tea party with several of her closest friends and asked me to contribute something. I brought these scones.

I mixed them in the morning. Froze them in a pyrex pan lined with wax paper and then baked them in the afternoon! Super easy and very nice with all that tea! Just follow the directions. I liked that I didn’t feel like I had to have special equipment or know certain terminology. They just seemed to materialize perfectly. The ladies at the party also enjoyed them. This isn’t always the case with gluten free baking. One friend even took one home for her husband. Nice!

I would totally make these again. You should try them too. I used the Bronski flour mix, again adding a lot extra because this is a butter heavy recipe. Just add gluten free flour until it is smooth and sticks together well like a nice scone batter should. And do work it with your hands! I used a pastry knife and it totally made the butter disappear into the dough. Might have been even better the way the recipe told me to make them. Rats! I’ll try it next time.

I am thinking since I’ve baked a lot I should cook a lot more this week.  So, to start I’m going to make Prosciutto, Tomato and Olive Spaghetti, Balsamic Glazed Steak Rolls , Chile Relleno Grilled Cheese and Carmel-Glazed Apple Bread. Whew! I have got to go grocery shopping… and drink some wine.

The pictures from the Walnut Jam Scones are below. Enjoy!

After Freezing

After Freezing

prepping for baking

prepping for baking

Done baking

Done baking

Scrumptious!

Scrumptious!

The spread at the tea party

The spread at the tea party

 

Leave a Reply

