Prosciutto, Tomato and Olive Spaghetti

I sure picked a heck of a week to do 4 recipes! Of course, the cooking is a welcome distraction. I found out Monday that our 16 year old cat, Ophelia, has hyperthyroid disorder and Diabetes. Now that our son is starting to crawl with confidence around the house, I may have to give the cat injections 2 times a day. It won’t come to that I hope. I found a natural, holistic treatment for the diabetes. We’re changing her diet completely and  she is on thyroid medication. Geez! If it isn’t one of us sick…. Got to stop this cycle.

The week started out with so much promise on Sunday too! We actually followed through on our threat to stop shopping at Whole Foods and get all of our produce (at the least) from a Farmer’s Market. Why we chose the Hollywood Farmer’s Market, I’ll never know. It’s just as exciting and crazy as you would think! 

When we arrived, we realized that we had forgotten bags. Novices! I just threw all of our purchases in the basket of the stroller. The market was so huge, it encompassed 4 blocks (2 blocks of Ivar and one block in either direction of Ivar). And it took us a full hour and a half to navigate the course of stands. And of course, just outside, in full hipster/1920’s garb, The California Feetwarmers, an old timey band.  If you live in LA or ever visit,  the Hollywood Farmer’s Market really is something to experience. Open on Sundays. More info here

On to the first dish of the week, Prosciutto, Tomato and Olive Spaghetti. Don’t let the simplicity of the title fool you, this is not your momma’s spaghetti, unless your momma is an Italian cook who is used to slaving over the oven, “just to get you to eat! You look so skinny!” Or unless you are my son. 

On a side note, my son really likes it when we have spaghetti. He thinks it’s hysterical how the noodles get sucked up into the mouth. I’m sure this isn’t a unique phenomenon, just a very cute one. One of the best sounds in the world is the laughter of a baby. 

I digress. This recipe involves mincing garlic and cubing tomatoes. Things I find very tedious when I am cooking. Of course they always pay off, but still. It takes for EVER! My husband kept the little one occupied while I made dinner. I used Mrs. Lapeer’s corn pasta as corn pasta is the closest in texture and taste to wheat pasta. If you feel better about using brown rice pasta and don’t mind the texture, by all means, try it! 

And after all that marketing, I got home minus two of the ingredients for 2 dishes. So the spaghetti was made without shallots. I couldn’t tell the difference, though I’m sure it would have only enhanced the dish.

After all that going on about how much work it is, it really is delicious. The first of the recipes that I’ve made of my Pinterest board that I really like.  I shouldn’t say that either because I have now made 3 batches of the Salty Bourbon Squares. They are quite good. Time to get my hubby some more bourbon though. 

My husband’s reaction to the spaghetti  was “This tastes like something I would order in a restaurant!” Which is great! New dish that I would incorporate into our regulars? Sure! Though not too much and next time I make it, I would use canned tomatoes. 

Tonight, I hope to make the steak rolls. Looks to be another “easy” recipe. (Read with extreme sarcasm.)  Until then, here’s a shot of the spaghetti from Monday night.

Until next time! Image

Leave a Reply

